Skip to product information
1 of 3

Introduction to pottery class

Introduction to pottery class

This introduction to pottery class is perfect for someone who has never touched clay and wants to discover it. This 2h30 initiation workshop in a small group allows you to become familiar with the turning table and to make a small bowl that you can take home after the firing time (about 6 weeks)


The number of places remaining (stock) for each available date will be updated once the latter is chosen. We have a maximum of 8 places per workshop.

We post workshop dates online every 15th of the month at 9 a.m., for the following month. If it is a gift, we recommend purchasing a gift certificate .

Regular price $65.00 CAD
Regular price Sale price $65.00 CAD

Low stock: 1 left

Local : studio, Cours en français

How it goes

This is generally how the initiation to pottery workshop takes place. Keep in mind that each teacher is different and that he adapts the teaching to the group.

- Welcome and explanation of the pottery process (≈15 min) - Kneading the clay (≈10 min) - Detailed demonstration by the teacher (≈25 min) - Initiation to the potter's wheel for all participants. Generally, each person can do 3 to 4 trials. The teacher circulates to help you. It's not as easy as it sounds. (≈60 to 75 min) - Choice of a favorite piece per person - Cleaning of wheels and equipment used (≈20 min). And yes, pottery is messy and cleaning is part of the experience!

To take full advantage of your workshop

We recommend that you arrive a few minutes before class starts and wait in our café area. Take the opportunity to grab a bite to eat or order a coffee if you wish! You will be able to enter the studio at the scheduled time of your lesson.

This pottery class is for adults only (teenagers aged 13 and over are accepted if accompanied by an adult). For the little ones, check out our workshops for children or parent-child!


Some recommendations before making pottery

  • Have short fingernails
  • Do not wear rings, bracelets or watches
  • Wear clothes and shoes suitable for a workshop. It is recommended to bring an apron or cloths to dry your hands
  • Clean your hands when entering the workshop
  • Thoroughly clean the equipment you will use during lessons

Firing of the pieces

You will receive an email approximately 6 weeks after your workshop, when your ceramic piece will be ready. As our emails often end up in unwanted boxes, add us to your contacts so you don't miss it!

It may happen that a piece breaks during firing, because ceramics is a complex art that involves several risks throughout the process. If your part did not survive the process, unfortunately we do not offer replacement or re-course. The introductory course is focused on the experience of pottery, not on the result.

Policies and change of dates

We do not issue refunds.

If you are unable to attend the date chosen for your workshop, please notify us by email at least one week in advance in order to move your workshop free of charge. A fee of $15 per person will apply for any transfer requested less than 7 days in advance, but more than 48 hours for the initiation to pottery workshops. For ceramic initiation days, the fee will be $30.

If you have to cancel with less than 48 hours notice, unfortunately it will not be possible to move or refund your workshop. We recommend that you try to find someone close to you to take your place if this is the case.

View full details

Passer aux informations produits
1 de 3

Cours d'initiation à la poterie

Cours d'initiation à la poterie

Ce cours d'initiation à la poterie est parfait pour quelqu'un qui n'a jamais touché à la terre et souhaite découvrir l'argile. Cet atelier d’initiation de 2h30 en petit groupe permet de se familiariser avec le tournage et de fabriquer un petit bol ou un gobelet que vous pourrez rapporter à la maison après le délai de cuisson.

Nous comptons un délais de 4 à 6 semaines pour la finition et la cuisson de vos pièces.


Vous pouvez voir le nombre de places restant (stock) pour chaque date disponible. Pour cela, cliquez sur le menu déroulant et sélectionnez une date. Nous avons un maximum de 8 places par atelier.

Nous mettons en ligne les dates des ateliers chaque 15 du mois à 9h, pour le mois suivant. S'il s'agit d'un cadeau, nous vous recommandons de faire l'achat d'un certificat-cadeau

Prix habituel $65.00 CAD
Prix habituel Prix promotionnel $65.00 CAD

Stock bas : 1 restant(s)

Local : studio, Cours en français

Déroulement

Voici généralement comment se déroule l'atelier d'initiation à la poterie.

Gardez en tête que chaque professeur est différent et qu’il adapte l’enseignement au groupe.

  • Accueil et explications du processus de la poterie (≈15 min)
  • Pétrissage de l’argile (≈10 min)
  • Démonstration détaillée par le professeur (≈25 min)
  • Initiation au tour de potier pour tous les participants. Généralement, chaque personne peut faire 3 à 4 essais. Le professeur circule pour vous aider. Ce n’est pas aussi facile que ça en a l’air. (≈60 à 75 min)
  • Choix d’une pièce favorite par personne
  • Nettoyage des tours et du matériel utilisé (≈20 min). Et oui, la poterie c’est salissant et le nettoyage fait partie de l’expérience!

Pour profiter pleinement de votre atelier

Nous vous recommandons d'arriver quelques minutes avant le début du cours et d’attendre dans notre espace café. Profitez-en pour manger une bouchée ou commander un café si vous le souhaitez! Vous pourrez entrer dans le studio à l’heure prévue de votre cours. 

Ce cours de poterie est réservé aux adultes (les adolescents de 13 ans et plus sont acceptés si accompagnés d’un adulte). Pour les petits, consultez nos ateliers pour enfants ou parent-enfant!


Quelques recommandations avant de faire de la poterie  

  • Ayez les ongles courts
  • Ne portez pas de bagues, de bracelets ou de montres
  • Portez des vêtements et des chaussures adaptés à un atelier. Il est recommandé d’amener un tablier ou des linges pour essuyer vos mains
  • Nettoyez vos mains à l’entrée dans l’atelier
  • Nettoyez bien le matériel que vous utiliserez pendant les cours 

Cuisson des pièces

Vous recevrez un courriel environ 6 semaines après votre atelier, lorsque votre pièce de céramique sera prête. Comme nos courriels se retrouvent souvent dans les boîtes indésirables, ajoutez-nous à vos contacts pour ne pas le manquer!

Il peut arriver qu’une pièce brise lors des cuissons, car la céramique est un art complexe qui comporte plusieurs risques tout au long du processus. Si votre pièce n’a pas survécu au processus, nous n’offrons malheureusement pas de remplacement ou de reprise du cours. Le cours d’initiation est axé sur l’expérience de la poterie, et non sur le résultat.

Politiques et changement de dates

Nous n’effectuons aucun remboursement.

Si vous avez un empêchement à la date choisie pour votre atelier, veuillez nous en aviser par courriel au minimum une semaine à l’avance afin de déplacer votre atelier sans frais. Des frais de 15$ par personne s’appliqueront pour tout transfert demandé à moins de 7 jours à l’avance, mais à plus de 48h pour les ateliers d’initiation à la poterie. Pour les journées d’initiation à la céramique, les frais seront de 30$.

Si vous devez annuler à moins de 48h d’avis, il ne sera malheureusement pas possible de déplacer ou de rembourser votre atelier. Nous vous recommandons d’essayer de trouver quelqu’un dans votre entourage pour prendre votre place si c’est le cas.

Afficher tous les détails